Dear Members and Friends, We hope that you are as

The Association for Healthcare
Risk Management of New York, Inc.
P.O. Box 4200-Grand Central Station
New York, NY 10163
P: 973-641-5311
F: 347-402-2953
[email protected]
Spring 2015
Gehan Soliman, President
Robert D. Martin, President-elect
Dear Members and Friends,
Francine Thomas, Past President
We hope that you are as happy as we are to have the cold winter months behind us
and are looking forward to the warmer months ahead. We closed out the winter season
with a successful webinar on Epidemic and Pandemic Readiness: A Review of the
Response to Ebola in the United States, its Applicability to Preparedness for Similar
Events in the Future and the Threat of Bioterrorism given by Dr. Joseph Masci,
Director of Medicine for Elmhurst Medical Center. Because of Dr. Masci’s leadership
in handling Ebola preparedness for New York City, the information he provided in the
webinar was quite beneficial for our listeners.
With regard to our spring conference, the Officers and the Board of Directors of
AHRMNY would like to extend our sincerest apologies for not hosting a spring
evening networking event as in previous years. Scheduling issues beyond our control
did not permit us to move forward with the event. We hope that the NY healthcare
risk management community understands and we are ensuring that this upcoming
annual conference will be enjoyable.
Lesli Giglio, Secretary
Robert Marshall, Treasurer
Theresa Boland
Bonnie Boone
Michael Brendel
Leanora DiUglio
Linda Foy
Jose L. Guzman
Karen J. Halpern
CaraMia Hart
Naeem Holmes
Victor Klein, MD
Grace R. Langan
Diane Longo
Michael S. Midgley
With that being said, don’t forget to save the date of Friday, June 5, 2015 from 8am to
4pm for our Annual Full Day Conference. We are pleased to be hosting the event at a
new location, TKP New York Conference Center, located near Bryant Park. The day
will include exciting and informative programs with topics ranging from cyber
breach, robotics, the medical liability crisis, mitigating damages from the ACA and
more. During the conference we will also hold our annual business meeting in
addition to welcoming the newly elected officers and directors and honoring the
outgoing officers and directors for their service to the organization. We look forward
to seeing you there!
Ruth Nayko
Lois Ottombrino
Jonathan D. Rubin
Barbara A. Ryan
Alvin Safran
Mary K. Steffany
Emeritus Board Members
Robin Maley
Pamela Monastero
Samuel Senders
Margaret Sullivan
Carolyn Reinach Wolf
Gehan Soliman
Founded in 1982
“Committed to Health Care Risk Management and Patient Safety in New York”