Complete Story - Montana State University

MSU-N's Edwards named Frontier POW, again
By George Ferguson
January 13, 2015
To no one’s surprise, Montana State University-Northern senior A’Jha Edwards
has been named Frontier Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Week,
Edwards, the 6-5 senior from Tuscon, Arizona, has now been named the
league’s player of the week four times this season. She was also the NAIA
National Player of the Week last week, and will be a candidate to take that
honor again when it’s announced later today.
In then No. 15 Northern’s two conference wins last weekend, Edwards
averaged an impressive 23 points and 17 rebounds, while also shooting a
staggering 77 percent from the field.
A’jha Edwards
Last Friday night, in Northern’s blowout win over Montana Tech, Edwards
poured in a game-high 27 points on a school-record 11-of-12 shooting. She
also grabbed 16 rebounds and had two blocked shots. Not to be outdone, she
returned to the floor Saturday night and was dominant against then No. 12
Lewis-Clark State. Despite being double-teamed for much of the game,
Edwards scored 19 points on 8-of-14 shooting while pulling down 19 rebounds.
For the season, Edwards is averaging 17 points and 12 rebounds per game. She also has an incredible 13
double-doubles in Northern’s 18 games thus far.
Also nominated for the women’s award was, Lindsey Abramson of the University of Great Falls, Kayla
DeWitt of Montana Tech, Tanis Fuller of Lewis-Clark State, Kalee Junkermier of Carroll College, Whitney
Mitchell of Rocky Mountain College and Tia Pappas of Westminster College.
Meanwhile, Montana Tech senior Antonio Snow was named the Frontier Men’s Player of the Week. Snow is a
6-2 guard from Las Vegas, Nevada.
The Orediggers opened Frontier Conference play with two road wins. Montana Tech downed the University
of Great Falls 75-66 and Montana State-Northern 76-67. The victory at Northern was the Orediggers first
win in Havre since 1999.
Snow averaged 17.5 points, 3.5 rebounds, 5.5 assists and one steal per game. He was 11-of-24 from the
field, 4-of-7 in 3-point fields and 9-of-12 from the free-throw-line.
Also nominated was, Casey Evans of Westminster College, T.J. Harris of the University of Great Falls,
Trevail Lee of Montana State-Northern, Taylor Longo of Rocky Mountain College, Stephen McCall of Montana
Western, Zach Taylor of Carroll College and Jacob Wiley of Lewis-Clark State.
Havre Daily News website