Dana Perino to Keynote 25 Annual WWIG Scholarship Recognition Banquet

Wednesday, February 8, 2012
Contact: Jessica Erickson, (608) 215-0468, [email protected]
Dana Perino to Keynote 25th Annual
WWIG Scholarship Recognition Banquet
Dinner to Be Held Thursday, May 24 at the Monona Terrace in Madison
MADISON – Wisconsin Women in Government (WWIG) announced today that Dana Perino, who served as the White
House Press Secretary to former President George W. Bush, will keynote the organization’s 25 Annual Scholarship
Recognition Banquet on Thursday, May 24, 2012 at the Monona Terrace Convention Center in Madison.
“We are proud to celebrate our 25 Anniversary this year, and thrilled to have Dana Perino as our keynote speaker,” said
Kelli Thompson, WWIG President. “As only the second female press secretary in U.S. history, Dana Perino has blazed a
path forward for women pursuing careers in public service. She is a true role model for women serving in government at
all levels.”
Individual banquet tickets are on sale now for $65 and can be purchased online at
www.WiscWomenInGovernment.org. Those interested in attending can also call (608) 848-2321 for more information.
Sponsorships are also available, and information on sponsorship levels and how to reserve your table can also be found
at www.WiscWomenInGovernment.org.
This year’s 25 Anniversary banquet will highlight women involved with WWIG throughout the past 25 years, as well as
recent undergraduate scholarship recipients. The event will begin with a networking reception featuring a silent auction
and free photo booth from 5:30-7:00 p.m. The dinner, program and keynote address will run from 7:00-8:30 p.m.
WWIG’s annual dinner is the premier bipartisan political event in Wisconsin, attended by more than 1,000 federal, state
and local elected officials, business leaders, public servants, and political enthusiasts. Since 1987, WWIG has raised
money to support and encourage women to choose a career in public service and to advance women in government.
Media interested in attending should contact Jessica Erickson at 608-215-0468 or via email at
[email protected] for media credentials.
About Dana Perino
Dana Perino served as White House Press Secretary to former President George W. Bush from 2007-2009. As only the
second female press secretary in U.S. history (and the first female Republican) and one of the most widely-respected
members of President Bush’s senior staff, she is an expert in crafting and communicating key messages under stressful
conditions and a keen analyst of the latest political news.
Perino is currently a Fox News contributor and co-host of The Five, the channel’s daily political news show. She is also
the president of the strategic communications firm, Dana Perino and Company; the editorial director of Crown Forum, the
imprint of Crown Publishing Group; and a frequent public speaker on how politics affects people outside the beltway.
President Obama also nominated her to the Broadcasting Board of Governors in 2009.
After leaving the White House in 2009, Perino spent time volunteering at an HIV / AIDS treatment center in South Africa.
She has developed a unique interest in the areas of women’s rights and maternal health, especially in Africa. In 2011,
she collaborated with fellow Broadcasting Board of Governor Susan McCue to launch Congo Story, a website that shines
light on the brutal realities of daily life for women in Africa. She is also the founder of Minute Mentoring, an organization
focused on giving professional guidance to young women starting their careers. Additionally, she serves on the boards of
Mothers Day Every Day, Running Start, ONE Campaign, and Pets2Vets.
Perino spent more than seven years serving in the Bush Administration. Before she joined the White House, she was a
spokesperson at the U.S. Department of Justice. She also worked in the White House doing communications work for the
Council on Environmental Justice. Her political experience also includes working on Capitol Hill for Rep. Dan Schaefer
(R-CO) and Rep. Scott McInnis (R-CO).
Perino worked as a journalist before turning to politics, covering the State Assembly of Illinois for local CBS. She is also a
former commentariat for The Washington Post, POLITICO, and National Review.
Past Keynote Speakers
2011 – Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, Maryland’s first woman Lieutenant Governor
2010 – Karen Hughes, former counselor to President George W. Bush
2009 – Donna Brazile, veteran Democratic political commentator and strategist
2008 – Jenna Bush, best-selling author & international child rights advocate
2007 – Elizabeth Edwards, accomplished attorney, best-selling author
2006 – Christine Todd Whitman, New Jersey’s first female Governor
2005 – Hillary Rodham Clinton, Former First Lady and U.S. Senator
2004 – Mary Matalin, former counselor to President Bush & Vice President Cheney
2003 – The Capitol Steps, musical political satire
2002 – Linda Wertheimer, award-winning broadcaster for National Public Radio
2001 – Catherine Crier, award-winning journalist for Court TV
2000 – Arianna Huffington, syndicated columnist and author
1999 – Pat Schroeder, former Colorado congresswoman
1998 – Ann Richards, former Governor of Texas
1997 – Lynne Cheney, former Chairwoman of the National Endowment for the Humanities and author
1996 – Dee Dee Myers, former press secretary for President Clinton
1995 – Jeane Kirkpatrick, former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations
1994 – Ann Compton, award-winning journalist for ABC
1993 – Janet Steiger, former chairwoman of the Federal Trade Commission
1992 – Molly Ivins, award-winning syndicated columnist and best-selling author
1991 – Peggy Noonan, columnist for the Wall Street Journal, author, and former speechwriter to President Reagan
1990 – Ellen Goodman, syndicated columnist
1989 – Marie Davis Jackson
1988 – Donna Shalala, President of the University of Miami, former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services, and former Chancellor of UW-Madison