2014 Excellence in the Environment Awards for Local Government

2014 Excellence in the
Environment Awards for Local
Tuesday 2 December
Finalists Forum
9.00am – 12.15pm
Awards Presentation
12.30pm – 3.00pm
UTS Aerial Function
Centre, Level 7, 235
Jones Street, Ultimo
Finalists Forum $33 (incl
GST), or
Forum and Awards lunch
$77 per person (incl.
Book tickets online at:
For more information
LGNSW Environment
Team on 9242 4000
11.15 - Concurrent sessions
The Local Government NSW (LGNSW) awards
recognise outstanding achievements by Local
Government in NSW in managing and protecting the
Natural Environment
 Oceans of Waste, Joy Middledorp, Warringah
 Broulee Biocertification Project, Shannon Burt,
Eurobodalla Shire Council
 Racing to Save the Mount Panorama Woodlands,
Mick Callan, Bathurst Regional Council
 Linking, Thinking and Acting: Roadside Vegetation
in the Murray Catchment, Natasha Lappin, Riverina
and Murray Regional Organisation of Councils
The 2014 Awards will be presented on Tuesday 2
December at the UTS Aerial Function Centre,
Ultimo. Prior to the presentation of the awards a
Finalists Forum will be held to showcase awardwinning councils.
Who should attend
The Finalists Forum provides an opportunity to hear
about the innovation and creativity across NSW
councils in managing and protecting the
environment, and all council staff and Councillors
with an interest in such issues are encouraged to
Finalists Forum
The Finalists Forum will feature presentations from
a selection of 2014 finalists.
9:00 - Welcome and keynote address from Amanda
McKenzie, CEO, Climate Council
Followed by presentations from finalists in the 2014
Local Sustainability Award and the 2013 Local
Sustainability Award Winner:
9:30 - Sustainability is core business in Lake
Macquarie, Alice Howe, Lake Macquarie City
9.50 - Tap into SAP it’s where we are at! Jo Spicer,
Tumut Shire Council
10:10 - Ecologically Sustainable Development
(ESD) Best Practice Project, Alex Williams,
North Sydney Council
10:30 - 2013 Local Sustainability Award Winner:
Study tour learnings, Peter Maganov,
Manager Sustainability, Randwick City
10:45 - Morning tea
Built Environment
 South Coast Regional Sea-Level Rise - Planning
and Policy Response Framework, Isabelle Ghetti,
Shoalhaven City Council and Norman Lenehan,
Eurobodalla Shire Council
 The Orange Waste Project, Wayne Davis, Orange
City Council
 Sustainable Procurement, Nicole Thompson, City
of Canada Bay
 The Blacktown Showground Precinct Water
Sensitive Urban Design Redevelopment, Larry
Adams, Blacktown City Council
Presentation Lunch
The Awards will be presented during lunch, which will
commence at 12:30pm and conclude at 3pm. The
Master of Ceremonies at the Awards lunch will be
stand-up comedian, Rod Quantock who writes and
performs shows on climate change and sustainability.
To register
Book tickets online at lgnsw.org.au/eventstraining/environment-awards.
LGNSW appreciates the continued support from the
Award sponsors: NSW Office of Environment and
Heritage, NSW Environment Protection Authority,
WorkCover NSW, NSW Ministry of Health, NSW
Department of Primary Industries, Water Directorate,
Local Land Services, NSW Roadside Environment
Committee and Local Government Super.