30 October 2014 | Attlee Suite, Portcullis House

Kindly sponsored by
Annual Parliament and the Internet Conference
The Attlee Suite, Portcullis House, October 30th 2014
Annual Parliament and Internet Conference | Programme
30th October 2014 | Attlee Suite, Portcullis House
09.00 – 09.15
Registration and Coffee
09.15 – 09.20
Welcome and
Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, and Chi Onwurah MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR
Baroness Fritchie, Chair, Nominet
Plenary session 1;
The importance of online
commerce to the UK
Matthew Doris, Head of International Community Programmes, Etsy
09.20 – 10.20
Alasdair McGowan, Head of Government Relations at eBay UK Ltd
James Hardy, CEO, Avenue 51 (ex Director for Europe, Alibaba)
Mike Cherry, National Policy Chairman, Federation Small Business
Guy Levin, Executive Director, COADEC
Chair: John Robertson MP
10.20 – 11.10
Keynote Speeches:
Rt Hon Harriet Harman MP, Shadow Deputy Prime Minister and Shadow
Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP, Shadow BIS Minister
Chair: Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP
11.10 – 11.30
Coffee Break
11.30 – 12.30
Breakout sessions
UK-Internet Governance Forum (UK-IGF)
– Attlee Suite
What are the key issues
facing the governance of
the internet and how will
these affect the UK going
Alun Cairns MP, Chair
Mark Carvell, DCMS & member of IGF MAG
Kristof Claesen, Press and Public Affairs Manager, IWF
Baroness Rennie Fritchie, Chair, Nominet
Baroness Sarah Ludford (TBC)
Andrew Puddephatt, Executive Director, Global Partners Digital
Members of the Childnet Youth IGF delegation
Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA)
– Room R
Communications data:
Lord Strasburger, Chair
priorities for reforming
Bob Satchwell, Society of Editor
the communications data
Mike Harris, Don’t Spy on Us
Robin Simcox, Henry Jackson Society
Gail Kent, Manager, National Crime Agency
The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
– Room U
Cyber Security one year
on – what’s new, what’s
changed, what’s coming
12.30 – 13:00
Keynote Speech:
Chi Onwurah MP, Chair
Gerry Penfold, KPMG
George Quigley, BDO
Simon Kendall, BIS
Rt Hon Ed Vaizey MP, Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy
Chair: Stephen Mosley MP
Kindly sponsored by
Annual Parliament and the Internet Conference
The Attlee Suite, Portcullis House, October 30th 2014
13.00 – 14.00
Networking Lunch
14.00 – 15.00
Plenary Session 2:
Women in tech
Karen Price, CEO, The Tech Partnership
Kathryn Parsons, CEO Decoded
Isabel Chapman, Peabody
Lucie Sarif, Head of Strategy, Lady Geek
Chair: Chi Onwurah MP
15.00 – 16.00
Breakout sessions;
-Attlee Suite
From start-ups to scaleups: cultivating highgrowth UK tech
Antony Walker, Deputy CEO, techUK, Chair
Simon Devonshire, scale-up entrepreneur-in-residence at the Department for
Business, Innovation and Skills
Sherry Coutu CBE, Angel investor and author of the Scale-Up Report
Iain Wright MP, Shadow Minister for Business, Innovation and Skills (TBC)
Guy Mucklow, CEO, Postcode Anywhere
Jon Steinberg, External Relations Manager, Google
Digital Policy Alliance (DPA)
-Room R
Are constituencies
meeting the digital
-Room U
Data and the consumer:
balancing privacy with
the growth of digital
16.00 – 16.30
The Earl of Erroll , Chair
Philip Gungill, CTO, ATG Media
Will Roebuck, eRadar
Tristan Wilkinson, Deputy CEO, Go ON UK
Internet Advertising Bureau (IAB)
John Whittingdale OBE MP, Chair
Matt Rogerson, Head of Public Affairs, Guardian News and Media
Vincent Potier, COO, Captify
Ben Walmsley, UK MD, Sizmek
‘The Future of the Internet; Ten years from now’
ary t inson, Director of Emerging Technologies , ARM
Bo Olofsson, Head of Bell Labs, Alcatel Lucent
Chair: John Burn-Murdoch, Financial Times
16.30 – 17.30
Plenary session 3
What needs to be in the
party manifestos to make
the UK a leading digital
nation by 2020?
Simon Blagden, non-executive Chairman, Fujitsu
Julian Ashworth, Global Director of Industry Policy, BT
Cormac Whelan, CEO UK & Ireland, Alcatel Lucent
Rachel Neaman, CEO, Go ON UK
Chair: Matt Warman, The Daily Telegraph
Closing Remarks
17.35 – 18.30
Drinks Reception
Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR
Eleanor Bradley, Chief Operating Officer, Nominet