ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters (ISSN 1948-5875) is published monthly by... American Chemical Society at 1155 16th St. NW, Washington, DC...

ACS Medicinal Chemistry Letters (ISSN 1948-5875) is published monthly by the
American Chemical Society at 1155 16th St. NW, Washington, DC 20036.
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St. NW, Washington, DC 20036
(202) 872-4600; TDD (202) 872-6076; Fax (202) 776-8264
Publications Division
Brian D. Crawford, President
Customer Service & Information Tel (202) 872-4376
E-mail [email protected]
Journals Publishing Group
Susan King, Senior Vice President
Anirban Mahapatra, Assistant Director, Editorial Development
Janice Elaine Y. Silverman, Managing Editor
Journal Production & Manufacturing Operations
American Chemical Society
2540 Olentangy River Road
P.O. Box 3330, Columbus, OH 43210
(614) 447-3665; Fax (614) 447-3745
E-mail [email protected]
ACS Publications Advertising Office
1155 16th St. NW, Washington, DC 20036
(610) 964-8061; E-mail [email protected]
Subscription Services
P.O. Box 3337, Columbus, OH 43210
Members contact: Member Services
(614) 447-3776; (800) 333-9511; Fax (614) 447-3671
E-mail [email protected]
Agencies & Institutions contact: Sales Analysis & Support
(614) 447-3674; (888) 338-0012; Fax (614) 447-5475
E-mail [email protected]
Journal Production & Manufacturing Operations
Robert S. O’Dell, Vice President, Manufacturing Operations
Diane E. Needham, Manager, Journals Editing
Veronica N. Hart, Staff Editor
Sales & Marketing
Brandon A. Nordin, Vice President, Sales, Marketing & Digital Strategy
Sean D. Abell, Director of Marketing
Jonathan Morgan, Director, Digital Strategy & Platform Development
Renee John, Marketing Manager
Global Editorial & Author Services
Sarah B. Tegen, Vice President
Charley Trowbridge, Assistant Director, Peer Review Operations
Melissa Blickem, Senior Peer Review Analyst
Copyright Permission: See the ACS Journal Publishing Agreement for certain rights ( Reprographic copying beyond that
permitted by Section 107 or 108 of the U.S. Copyright Act is allowed, provided that the current per article fee is paid to the Copyright Clearance Center. Tel: +1 978-750-8400.
Republication or reproduction of material for which ACS owns copyright in this journal is permitted only through Rightslink at
2014 Subscription and Ordering Information:
Instructions for Authors and the ACS Journal Publishing Agreement:
Visit the ACS Web site ( Please conform to these This journal is available to subscribers via the web. ACS members may purchase
instructions when submitting manuscripts.
a subscription for $95. Contact Member Services (see above). Institutional
subscribers may contact Sales Analysis & Support (see above) for rate information.
Manuscript Submission:
Please note that this journal is available exclusively online.
Submit via the Journal Web site (
Accepted Papers and Proofs:
Direct correspondence to Journal Production & Manufacturing Operations (see
Digital Object Identifier (DOI):
The DOI identification system for digital media has been designed to provide
persistent and reliable identification of digital objects. Information on the DOI and its
governing body, the International DOI Foundation, can be found at http://www.doi.
org. The DOI is prominently displayed on each published paper.
Journal Policies:
The American Chemical Society and its Editors assume no responsibility for
the statements and opinions advanced by contributors. Registered names and
trademarks, etc., used in this publication, even without specific indication thereof, are
Bulk Reprint Orders:
not to be considered unprotected by law.
For information on ordering reprints, see the specific article on
Change of E-mail or Mailing Address:
or instructions at or contact
For members only, notify Subscription Services (see above). Include both old and
Cierant Corporation at (866)-305-0111 9am to 5pm EST.
new addresses.
New and Renewal Subscriptions:
Members send payment to American Chemical Society, P.O. Box 182426,
Columbus, OH 43218-2426. Institutions send payment to American Chemical
Society, P.O. Box 182977, Columbus, OH 43218-2977.
Canadian GST Reg. No. 127571347
© Copyright 2014 American Chemical Society
Supporting Information (SI):
SI for all issues is available free of charge from the journal’s home page (http://pubs.
EDITOR-IN-CHIEF: Dennis C. Liotta
Department of Chemistry, Emory University
Emerson 403, Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-6602; Fax (202) 354-4815
E-mail [email protected]
Maurizio Botta
Universita degli Studi di Siena
Email [email protected]
Bruce E. Maryanoff
The Scripps Research Institute
Email [email protected]
Donna Huryn
University of Pittsburgh
Email [email protected]
Peter Wipf
University of Pittsburgh
Email [email protected]
Ahmed Abdel-Magid
Therachem Research Medilab (India), Pvt. Ltd.
Gerard Rosse
Dart Neuroscience
Benjamin Blass
Temple University School of Pharmacy
David P. Rotella
Montclair State University
Jeffrey Aube
University of Kansas
Hualiang Jiang
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Anthony Barrett
Imperial College London
John A. Katzenellenbogen
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Annette Beck-Sickinger
University of Leipzig
Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen
University of Copenhagen
Brian Blagg
University of Kansas
Mark J. Macielag
Janssen Research & Development
Duane A. Burnett
FORUM Pharmaceuticals
Nick Carruthers
Johnson & Johnson PRD LLC
Andrew P. Combs
Incyte Corporation
Pat Confalone
Benjamin Cravatt
The Scripps Research Institute
William Denny
University of Auckland
Ke Ding
Guangzhou Institute of Biomedicine and Health,
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Stevan W. Djuric
AbbVie, Inc.
Beat Ernst
University of Basel
William R. Ewing
Bristol-Myers Squibb
George Fleet
University of Oxford
Nobutaka Fujii
Kyoto University
Gunda Georg
University of Minnesota
William Greenlee
MedChem Discovery Consulting, LLC
John E. Macor
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Yu Rao
Tsinghua University
Allen B. Reitz
Fox Chase Chemical Diversity Center, Inc.
Charles H. Reynolds
Gfree Bio
Ralph A. Rivero
GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals
Mark A. Rizzacasa
University of Melbourne
Bryan L. Roth
University of North Carolina
Jing-Kang Shen
Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica,
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Richard Silverman
Northwestern University
Mikiko Sodeoka
RIKEN The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research
Kiyoshi Tomioka
Kyoto University
Shaomeng Wang
University of Michigan
Ann E. Weber
Merck Research Laboratories
Yvan Guindon
Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal
Jeff Zablocki
Gilead Sciences, Inc.
Stephen Hanessian
University of Montréal
Zhong-Yin Zhang
Indiana University School of Medicine
Amy Hauck Newman
National Institute of Drug AbuseIntramural Research Program, NIH
Ming-Ming Zhou
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Kenneth Jacobson
National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases
Ex-Officio Member:
Thomas E. Prisinzano
University of Kansas