Pokemon Infographic

Legendary Trios and Masters
Within each Generation of Pokemon is a legendary trio, a set of pokemon that alone would destroy the world,
but in set create harmonius balance, either by choice or force.This is only a small preview of those trios and
their masters
Legendary Birds: Articuno, Zapdos, Moltres.
Master: Lugia
Making their first appearance in the series in generation 1, the legendary bird pokemon are Articuno,
Zapdos, and Moltres. They share a master, Lugia, who first appeared in generation 2. Articuno, Zapdos,
and Moltres represent Ice, Lightning and Fire respectively. Lugia is known as the guardian of the seas. In
the Pokemon animated series, Profesor Oak describes the three legendary birds as the “source and
cradle of the oceans”, while the electrical power of Zapdos creates the currents and streams. The trio
are bound to Lugia, who serves as the guardian of the seas. Without Lugia to stop them, the trio fight
each other. Their names are combination of words that play on their element along with a spanish
number (uno, dos and tres)
Legardy Beasts: Entei, Raikou, Suicune
Master: Ho-oh
There are many theories surrounding the Legendary Beasts. The only truth that matters is that of three
pokemon were trapped in a burning building and were later resurrected by the Guardian of the Skies,
Ho-oh. Similar to the Legendary birds, they are comprised of Water , Lightning, and Fire. This creates
additional symmetry to the Legendary Birds. This may not be a surprise due to Generation II having
already been in the works at the release of the original pokemon games, Ho-oh and the Legendary
Beasts being present in beta code on the original Pokemon cartridges. Ho-oh is the first Legendary to be
seen in the television series, during the opening sequence.
Weather Trio: Groudon, Kyogre, Rayquaza
Master: Rayquaza
First appearing in generation 3, the weather trio is made up of Groudon, Kyogre and Rayquaza with
Rayquaza also serving as the master of the trio. Groudon possesses the power to expand the continents,
while Kyogre possesses the ability to expand the oceans. Rayquaza is the only one capable of stopping
the two. The trio is based on the biblical legends of the Behemoth (Kyogre), Leviathan (Groudon), and
the giant griffon-like bird, Ziz(Rayquaza). Just like their pokemon counterparts, these three beasts were
similarly masters of the Land, Sea and Sky.
Creation trio: Palkia, Dailga, Giratina
Master: Arceus
Palkia,Dailga, and Giratina serve as the mascots of Generation IV. The three pokemon represent the
concepts of Space(Palkia), Time (Dailga), and Antimatter (Giratina). Races is said to have created this trio
when it created the Pokemon universe. Arceus is widely considered the God of the Pokemon world.
Controlling any one of these pokemon could lead to the destruction of the world. However, when forces
threatened to do just that, Giratina intervened, supporting the idea that this trio is self-sustaining.
Tao Trio: Resharim, Zekrom, Kyurem
Master: None
The Tao trio make their first appearance in generation 5. Its members are Resharim, Zekrom and
Kyurem.The Tao trio represent the concept of Yin and Yang, with Resharim representing “white yin”, and
Zekrom representing black yang. Kyurem represents the taoist concept of Wuji, the absence of Yin and
Yang. The Tao trio has no known master. Resharim and Zekrom were believed to once be one pokemon
that was used by two brothers. The two brothers had different ideals, and the pokemon split into the two
yin and yang pokemon. The origin of Kyurem is cloudy at best. It may in fact be the remainding part of
the original pokemon that Resharim and Zekrom split off from.
Forces of Nature: Thundurus, Tornadus, Landorus
Master: Landorus
First appearing in generation 5, the three legendary genies, also known as the forces of nature, consists
of Tornadus, Thundurus and Landorus, with the latter serving as the master of the trio. Each member of
the trio has two forms, an incarnate form, where they appear as genies. Their Therian form is a more
animal-like appearance, similar to other pokemon. The trio shares some mythological similarities to
some Japanese gods (known as Kami). Tornadus represents Fujin, the wind kami. Thundurus represents
Rajin, the thunder kami. Landorus represents Inari, the fertility kami.
Swords of Justice
Cabolion, Terrakion, Virizion
For those who know literature, these four pokemon are reflections of Alexander Dumas' Four Musketeers, fandubbed the Four Muskedeers. Cabolion is Athos, the
de facto leader of the grou. Terrakion is Parthos, the brute force of the group. Virizion is Aramis, feminine and vain. Keldeo is d'Artagnan, the youngest, joining the
group later. The age difference is present in their physical difference, but also in that Keldeo learned the signature move, Sacred Sword, a level later than the
Images and Information sourced from Bulbapedia.