Google Calendar - Sharing You have a number of options for sharing Calendars and the individual events on your calendar. Everyone at EvCC has a default calendar, which is open to all other employees to see - though they only see your appointments as “busy” and don’t get the event details that you are able to see. We’ll cover the basic outlines of sharing calendars: ● Sharing with everyone in the world ● Sharing with specific users you choose ● Share with everyone at EvCC ● Making a private calendar ● Sharing one event but not an entire calendar Getting Started All EvCC employees have a calendar that is automatically created for them, and you can open it up by clicking on the word Calendar in the top menu bar when you are in Gmail. What you put on this calendar is accessible to all EvCC employees and students, though they will only see the word busy on the calendar and not the details of any event (unless you change your calendar settings to allow this). Where sharing applies is when you make an entirely new calendar, such as a calendar of appointments for just the people in your department. You can learn all the steps for doing this in the tutorial for creating a new custom calendar. Once you have created your new calendar, go to the calendar home page and look in the left column for the heading My Calendars. Click on the box to the right of the name of your new calendar as shown on the right. In the box that opens up, select Share This Calendar. (You can also click the Settings link at the bottom of the calendar list, then select a calendar and click the Share this calendar link.) The calendar settings page will open up, as shown on the next page. At the top you’ll see the option to Share this calendar with others. When you select this box you then choose one of the two options: make the calendar public or share with the organization. Public Calendar Making the calendar public means everyone on the Internet will be able to see it. You can control exactly what they see by using the drop down menu to the left of the checkbox. There are two options: See only free/busy information (hide details) People can see events that you put on the calendar, but they will only see a block of time with the word busy. They can also invite you to events that they create on their calendars. See all event details This will make all of your event details visible to the world, including via Google search. Share your calendar with specific users In the page shown above, type the name of the person you want to share your calendar with in the field below Person. EvCC names will auto-complete, and for adding new people that are not on your contacts list you would need to enter the full email address. This normally means that you would want to add the person to your contacts list first, and then go and give them rights to your calendar. From the drop-down menu, select a level of permission, then click Add. (Once you click Add, the person you selected to share the calendar with will receive an email invitation to view your calendar.) Here are your options for sharing and what they mean: Make changes AND manage sharing This person has owner rights to this calendar. They can add, delete, and edit events and invite others to see the calendar. Make changes to events This person can see and change all events, including private ones. See all event details This person can view the details of all events except those marked as private. See free/busy information (no details) This person can see when your calendar is booked and when it has free time, but will not be able to see the names or details of any of your events. You can also share calendars with a group of people by using Google Groups. The calendar sharing settings will automatically adjust to any changes in the group's membership. In the example, the calendar has been shared with the group Allcampus, and that group has different rights than selected other users. Whenever you make any changes to the settings, remember to click Save in the Calendar Settings window. Private calendars If you needed the calendar to remain private, don’t change anything in the sharing settings - all new calendars you create will be private to you by default until you change them. With this setting, none of your calendar information, not even free/busy information, will be available to anyone. You can’t reset your default EvCC calendar to private, no matter how much you want the rest of us to mind our own business. Setting permission to a single event Access rights can be assigned to a calendar as a whole, or to individual meetings. Event rights override calendar rights, so for example an individual event can be made private, even if it’s on a calendar that is shared (like the default EvCC calendar that was created for you). Private events can only be viewed by the calendar's owner and anyone the owner has granted the rights to Make changes AND manage sharing privileges. Similarly, you can make an individual meeting public even if it's on a calendar that's not shared. Share a Calendar Link You can share any calendars you create by sending out a link with the calendar's address. To find a calendar's address, in the calendar list on the left side of the page, click the down-arrow next to the appropriate calendar and select Calendar settings. Toward the bottom of the Calendar Settings page that comes up you will see Calendar Address. Click the ICAL button in that section and copy the address in the page that pops up. You can then email the link out to anyone you would like to share the calendar. Recipients will need to add this calendar to their own calendar by following these steps: Click the Add down-arrow at the bottom of the calendar list on the left side of the page, and select Add by URL. Paste the link into the Public Calendar Address box and then click Add. Share with people who don't use Google Calendar You can share with people who don't use Google Calendar giving them your calendar's address in HTML format. In the calendar list on the left, click the down-arrow next to a calendar and select Calendar settings. In the Calendar Address section, click the HTML icon. You'll see a pop-up window with your calendar's URL. Share this URL with your friends who don't use Google Calendar.
© Copyright 2020